Lakshmi - Multipurpose WordPress Theme

The three Gunas

Guṇa (Sanskrit: गुण) depending on the context means 'string, thread or strand', or 'virtue, merit, excellence', or 'quality, peculiarity, attribute, property'.

The concept originated in Samkhya philosophy, but now a key concept in various schools of Hindu philosophy. There are three gunas, according to this worldview, that have always been and continue to be present in all things and beings in the world. These three gunas are called: sattva (goodness, constructive, harmonious), rajas (passion, active, confused), and tamas (darkness, destructive, chaotic). All of these three gunas are present in everyone and everything, it is the proportion that is different, according to Hindu worldview. The interplay of these gunas defines the character of someone or something, of nature and determines the progress of life.

About Hinduism

Hinduism is a religion, or a way of life, found most notably in India and Nepal. With approximately one billion followers, Hinduism is the world's third largest religion by population, and the majority religion in India, Nepal and Bali (Indonesia).

Hinduism has been called the "oldest religion" in the world, and some practitioners and scholars refer to it as Sanātana Dharma, "the eternal law" or the "eternal way" beyond human origins.

About Lakshmi

Donation Ready

Use Give - WordPress Donation Plugin with the Pro Lakshmi - Multipurpose WordPress Theme and You can accept donations from Your visitors.

About Give

Concert Campaign

Notice: A non well formed numeric value encountered in /home/webzakt/public_html/lakshmi/wp-content/plugins/give/includes/formatting.php on line 411
$4,550 of $10 raised
$ 100
Personal Info

Donation Total: $100


Guru (Sanskrit: गुरु. IAST: guru) is a Sanskrit term that connotes someone who is a
"teacher, guide or master" of certain knowledge.

Comments are closed.